Lifelong Journey: Weight Loss

image“…I have lost weight, I have gained the weight back. I have constantly struggled with all sorts of the weight stuff, so this is a constant journey for me and weight loss is a lifetime journey, so we can all really use the advice, and tips, and support from one another going on the same journey as we are.” Diva and the Devine 2016

I was living my life like a corporation, aiming for lower [headcount & spending] targets than justifying why the results were over goal. Devoting most of my entire life marching to a targeted weight number that society sees as “beautiful” is insane, and in the fifty years I have been alive, I have achieved my ideal goal weight, three times. To this day, I was still obsessing over a number that, for me, may not ever be reality. Why can’t I let it go?

The girl I quoted was taken from a YouTube video on Weight Watchers and snack/SmartPoints ideas. It is a wake-up call to a bigger problem a lot of us face today. I never thought I would come across another women verbally stating that weight loss is a lifetime journey, and seeming to accept that fate. Who would want to spend their life trying to lose weight? But that is what a lot of women (and men) do, and the hard truth is that I was one of them.

It is extremely difficult to let the weight loss obsession go. I grew up with family members pointing out and poking the areas of my body that accumulate fat (arms and stomach). By the time I was five years old, I was aware that I was fat; being fat related to not being loved, and set a lifelong path of skinny obsessing.

I think I am like a lot of women; counting calories, eating 100 calorie snack packs, removing fat from my diet, consuming sugar free/low/er fat products, eating grains, and over-dosing on chicken breast. Yet, my experience was not achieving  my goal weight, but instead seeing the number on my scale rise, and resorting to wearing “Bad Idea Jeans.”

April 2016, I was reintroduced to Whole 30 via an audio book. I listened to the book a few times before finding podcasts on low carb high fat, and then making my way to a Ketogenic lifestyle. During that same time, I was also experiencing health symptoms, such as nerve pain, vertigo, and skin issues, which I thought were related to auto immune and insulin problems. I made the decision to forgo the (added) sugars, grains, and higher carbohydrate foods from my diet.

On April 30th, I went cold turkey eating low carb high fat, and as of today I have not looked back with regret. I will never say that spaghetti does not sound good, nor will I pass-up a bakery without window shopping (it is still fun to look). Consuming real foods has made a difference in my life. I have not seen myself obsessing with: weight loss targets, counting calories, or the number on my scale. I eat whatever I want, or what sounds good that day. I am enjoying shopping for meats and produce, and trying new recipes. I have lost 15lbs from consuming high fat, moderate protein, and low carb foods. Also, the health issues I experienced prior to my lifestyle change have disappeared or are healing up. For the first time in my life, weight loss is not a lifetime journey, nor is it something I am held prisoner too.

Love, jennifer

Leave a Reply

